The most frequently-used databases
This link opens in a new windowEi Compendex is a broad engineering literature database, providing a global view of peer-reviewed and indexed publications across 190 engineering disciplines. PCA Staff & PCA Board & Committee members can request a login.
The PCA's Roadmap outlines the opportunities and actions to reach carbon neutrality involving the entire value chain. Access the Executive Summary & the Full Roadmap from this website.
The PCA Archival Literature contains ~700 discontinued PCA publications from 1915 to 1994. It features the "IS" (Information Sheet) and the "EB" (Engineering Bulletin) publication series. These reports are for archival purposes only. They should not be considered valid as guidance in construction/reconstruction without consulting an engineer/building code specialist.
The PCA Bookstore carries the most current PCA research and economic market publications by PCA Staff on the topics of:
The Cement Research Library contains nearly 2000 technical papers and research reports issued from 1916 to May 2008 on the chemistry, technology, properties, and manufacture of Portland and other cements.
A searchable compendium of over 1,200 PCA concrete research reports from 1916 to 2008. Topics range from concrete properties and long-term field performance to durability, high performance concrete, life cycle inventory, sustainability, and structural design.
Discover publications and more in the PCA Library collections.
The PCA Regulatory Comments database currently includes over 600 comments submitted by the PCA individually or jointly, from 2002 to the present, as part of the publicly searchable regulatory materials available at regulations.gov and stb.gov.
Recorded presentations from the 2023 PCA Sustainability Summit, August 22-24, 2023
Learn about Portland-Limestone Cement (PLC); includes example projects, videos, technical documents, CO2 calculator and more.
Find scholarly ebooks in multiple subjects from world-renowned publishers. Search across e-books, recommend purchases and read full-text of purchased e-books. PCA Staff & PCA Board & Committee members can request a login by emailing the library at library@cement.org or filling out a form under Services.
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Founded in 1980, the ACEEE is a nonprofit research organization, that provides independent analysis, with the aim id developing policies to reduce energy waste and combat climate change.
Advancing materials performance to protect society, assets and the environment with a focus on a world built and protected with safe, reliable, sustainable materials.
The ATE program focuses on the education of technicians for high-technology fields. Most of the lesson plans for cement and concrete are for Middle School through Higher Education.
The ATE program focuses on the education of technicians for high-technology fields. Most of the lesson plans for cement and concrete are for Middle School through Higher Education.
AZoBuild educates and informs a worldwide audience of researchers, engineers and scientists with the latest industry news, information and insights from the construction industry.
The Carbon Capture Simulation Initiative (CCSI) Toolset was released for open-source use to all stakeholders in modeling, optimization, and uncertainty quantification of carbon capture applications. The CCSI Toolset is the only suite of computational tools and models designed to help maximize learning and reduce risk during scale-up of carbon-capture technologies.
Content relevant to standards and copyright from the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC).
CCSI2 is a partnership among national laboratories, industry and academic institutions that will apply cutting edge computational modeling and simulation tools to accelerate the commercialization of carbon capture technologies from discovery to development, demonstration, and ultimately the widespread deployment to hundreds of power plants.
Researchers from the Potsdam-Institute for Climate Impact Research have analyzed 1,500 climate policies in 41 countries and created a dashboard allowing you to learn about successful policy interventions OR about country cases with large emission reductions across four main sectors: building, electricity, industry and transport.
Founded in 1924, the Concrete Reinforcing Steel Institute (CRSI) is a technical institute and Standards Developing Organization (SDO) that stands as the authoritative resource for information related to steel reinforced concrete construction.
Learn more about copyright from the Copyright Clearance Center.
Answers to a number of questions about the proposed versus final rule on non-hazardous secondary materials.
ISI advances sustainable infrastructure using the Envision sustainability framework, through education, training, and third-party project verification.
Established in 1948, JCA is a trade organization comprised of all 16 cement manufacturers in Japan (as of April 2023).
MPA is a UK trade association, formed in 2009, for the aggregates, asphalt, cement, concrete, dimension stone, lime, mortar and industrial sand industries.
Fulltext available at publisher site from: Issue 1, 2009+
NEU was established by the American Concrete Institute to collaborate globally to drive education, awareness and adoption of the use of carbon neutral materials and technologies in the built environment.
In support of NSF's plan for providing public access to its funded research, the NSF Public Access Repository (NSF-PAR) is the designated repository where NSF-funded investigators deposit peer-reviewed, published journal articles and juried conference papers. NSF-PAR also provides search mechanisms to enable you to find and use these articles and papers.
Fill out this form including as much information as possible to expedite your copyright permission request for PCA materials and publications.
The SE 2050 Database is a central repository for firms participating in the SE 2050 Commitment Program to submit structural embodied carbon (global warming potential) data. The data submitted to the SE 2050 Database will be used to inform industry benchmarks and targets, ultimately working towards net zero embodied carbon by 2050.
If you are a member of an SE 2050 Signatory Firm, click Report Your Data to create a user account and access the database.
Created and maintained by the American Federation of Teachers, Share My Lesson is a community of teachers, higher education faculty, and other education-oriented members who contribute content and collaborate. Most of the cement and concrete lesson plans and activities are for K-12.
Created and maintained by the American Federation of Teachers, Share My Lesson is a community of teachers, higher education faculty, and other education-oriented members who contribute content and collaborate. Most of the cement and concrete lesson plans and activities are for K-12.
The SCA is a nonprofit trade association representing producers and shippers of slag cement in the United States.
The TeachEngineering Digital Library is an educational resource featuring standards-aligned, design-rich curricula. Curricula meant for K-12.
The TeachEngineering Digital Library is an educational resource featuring standards-aligned, design-rich curricula. Curricula meant for K-12.
Includes Environmental Impact and Market Reports under the Publications menu
The Waste-to-Energy Association (WTEA) is a national trade organization representing waste-to-energy companies and communities that rely upon these facilities to educate policy makers on the current scientific data and advocate for waste-to-energy as a key component of sustainable waste management.
