Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Home: Library Services Overview

Library Research Services

Save Time, Save Money, Work Smarter

One of the library's most valuable and timesaving services is to provide background research and information on technical topics related to the cement and concrete industry.

Researchers, engineers and managers often require baseline, or state-of-the-art, knowledge of prior research. Not only to avoid duplication of effort but also to gain a larger perspective on a particular issue or subject.

To support PCA Member company needs, the library staff can draw on both its own extensive collection and search science/engineering specific databases and web resources.

Depending on the requestor's needs, we can provide information as a list of bibliographic references & abstracts or the full-text articles.

PCA Member Company Services

The following are exclusive library services for PCA member companies:

  • Extensive literature searching
  • Information look up
  • Delivery of full-text articles or book chapters (within copyright guidelines)
  • Compendex database access (PCA Board & Committee Members only)
  • ProQuest EBook Central access (PCA Board & Committee Members only)
  • Book loans (via local public or academic library on the OCLC Worldshare network)

Related Service Request Forms:

Community Services

We realize that PCA membership is not a viable solution for every researcher or organization. The PCA Library is open to the wider community for onsite research and study. Please contact us to set up a date and time to visit the library.

Other services that are offered freely to the wider community:

  • Quick look up of information
  • Search requests (limited to < 15 minutes)
  • Copyright permissions for PCA copyrighted materials
  • PCA Library Catalog (linked below; includes links to full text of PCA publications when available)
  • PCA Online Repositories (linked below; includes: Archival Literature, Concrete Library, Cement Library)

Related links:

PCA Resources Available to All:

Request Compendex Login (PCA only)

Sometimes it is just easier to do your own literature searching. After all, you know what you are looking for and can adjust your strategy accordingly. 

The PCA Library's license agreement for Compendex, the premier engineering literature database, allows for personal login options for the following user groups:

  • PCA Staff
  • PCA Board members
  • PCA Committee members

Contact us for more information or to request a login.

Request ProQuest Login (PCA only)

The PCA Library's license agreement for ProQuest EBook Central allows for personal login options for the following user groups:

  • PCA Staff
  • PCA Board members
  • PCA Committee members

Contact us for more information or click here to request a login.

Contact: (626) 691-2458 library@cement.org