PCA Library: Guides: Coal Ash in Cement

Books

ProQuest E-Books (Log-in Required)

Please note: The ProQuest E-Book Central Platform is available to PCA Staff, Board and Committee members, please request a login.

Ash from Coal and Biomass Combustion (ProQuest)
Singh, Ashok K., et al. Ash from Coal and Biomass Combustion, Springer International Publishing AG, 2020.
more...less...
This is a concise book with comprehensive information on coal and biomass ash generated from their combustion in thermal power plants. It presents detailed studies on ash generated from contrasting coal and biomass feedstocks, and provides a comparative evaluation of these different ashes in terms of their origin, properties, environmental hazards. Potential utilizations with specific advantages and disadvantages of the respective ashes are elaborated in detail, including some innovative means of ash utilization for value addition purposes. By addressing both the theory and commercial exploitation of these products, this book will be helpful for industrialists, academicians and researchers alike.
Clean Coal Technologies (ProQuest)
Clean Coal Technologies : Beneficiation, Utilization, Transport Phenomena and Prospective, Springer International Publishing AG, 2021.
more...less...
This book presents the state of art of the several advanced approaches to beneficiation of coal. The influence of recent technology attains the advantages of processing coal, purification studies, rheological behavior, and the mineral beneficiation. The experts collected in this volume have contributed significantly to the enrichment in the in-depth knowledge not only in context of working knowledge but also future prospects of clean coal technology.
Clean Electricity Through Advanced Coal Technologies : Handbook of Pollution Prevention and Cleaner Production (ProQuest)
Cheremisinoff, Nicholas P.. Clean Electricity Through Advanced Coal Technologies : Handbook of Pollution Prevention and Cleaner Production, Elsevier Science & Technology Books, 2012.
more...less...
Coal power is a major cause of air pollution and global warming and has resulted in the release of toxic heavy metals and radionuclides, which place communities at riskafor long-term health problems. However, coal-fired power plants also currently fuel 41% of global electricity. "Clean Electricity Through Advanced Coal Technologies" discussesathe environmental issues caused by coal power, such as air pollution, greenhouse gas emissions and toxic solid wastes. This volume focuses on increasingly prevalent newer generation technologies with smaller environmental footprints than the existing coal-fired infrastructure throughout most of the world. These technologies include fluidized-bed combustion and gasification. It also provides an overview of carbon capture and sequestration technologies and closely examines the 2008 Kingston TVA spill, the largest fly ash release ever to have occurred in the United States. Each volume of the "Handbook of Pollution Prevention and Cleaner Production" covers manufacturing technologies, waste management, pollution issues, methods for estimating and reporting emissions, treatment and control techniques, worker and community health risks, cost data for pollution management, and cleaner production and prevention options. Discusses the environmental impact of coal power, including air pollution, greenhouse gas emissions and solid toxic wastesFocuses on newer coalatechnologies with smaller environmental footprints than existing infrastructureProvides an overview of carbon capture and sequestration technologies.
Coal Combustion Products (CCPs) : Characteristics, Utilization and Beneficiation (ProQuest)
Robl, Tom, et al. Coal Combustion Products (CCPs) : Characteristics, Utilization and Beneficiation, Elsevier Science & Technology, 2017.
more...less...
Coal Combustion Products (CCPs): Their Nature, Utilization and Beneficiation is a valuable resource for engineers and scientists from the coal, cement, concrete, and construction industries seeking an in-depth guide to the characteristics, utilization, beneficiation, and environmental impacts of coal combustion by-products. Researchers in universities working in this area will also find much to expand their knowledge. The book provides a detailed overview of the different waste materials produced during power generation from coal, exploring their nature, beneficiation techniques, applications, and environmental impacts. Strong focus is placed on coal fly ash, bottom ash, and flue gas desulfurization materials, and their employment in cement, concrete, gypsum products, aggregates, road construction, geotechnics, and agriculture, among other products and industries. Part 1 focuses on the nature of coal ashes, with chapters on their origin, generation, and storage, both in ponds and landfill. The coal combustion by-products produced as a result of clean coal technologies are the focus of the final chapter in the section. The next group of chapters in Part 2 considers the utilization of different waste materials, including the key products coal fly ash, bottom ash, and flue gas desulfurization materials. This is followed by a contribution reviewing the latest research into innovative and advanced uses for coal ash. After an introduction to ash quality problems and quality monitoring, Part 3 concentrates on the essential area of by-product beneficiation techniques, in other words how to maximize the quality of materials for the end user. Topics covered include separation methods, thermal processing, and chemical passivation. The final section of the book addresses environmental issues, including the use of coal combustion by-products in green construction materials and the essential health and safety considerations associated with their use. An essential reference on the nature, reactivity, beneficiation, potential and environmental risks of coal-combustion by-products Contains an in-depth review of the origin and geochemistry of coal ash Explores the utilization of coal combustion by-products as supplementary cementitious materials to reduce the anthropomorphic greenhouse gas emissions associated with the use of ordinary Portland cement concrete Describes the essential area of the toxicology of coal combustion by-products.
Coal combustion waste: management and beneficial uses (ProQuest)
Coal Combustion Waste: Management and Beneficial Uses : Management and Beneficial Uses, edited by Daniel D. Lowell, Nova Science Publishers, Incorporated, 2010.
more...less...
Coal fired power plants account for almost 45% of electric power generated in the United States. The coal combustion process at those facilities generates a tremendous amount of waste. In 2008, industry estimates indicate that 136 million tons of coal combustion waste (CCW) was generated. That would make CCW the second largest waste stream in the United States, second to municipal solid waste, or common household garbage. How CCW is managed and how those management methods are regulated have come under increased scrutiny in recent years. This book examines the potential harm from CCW to human health and the environment, and delves into the investigation of the management of CCW which is essentially exempt from federal regulation.
Coal Fly Ash: Properties, Applications and Performance (ProQuest)
Coal Fly Ash: Properties, Applications and Performance, edited by Miriam Gray, Nova Science Publishers, Incorporated, 2018.
more...less...
Due to rising energy demand, the amount of coal utilization is escalating at a fast rate, leading to a rise in ash generation. Coal Fly Ash: Properties, Applications and Performance begins by presenting a study wherein the physiochemical properties of coal ash were analysed and based on that, their potential for reuse was identified.Next, the synergy between Portland cement and coal fly ash was investigated. Raw materials were characterized in terms of chemical and mineralogical composition and physical properties. Mortars were manufactured and the effect of the addition of different ratios of coal fly ash (0-80 wt %) as a partial substitute of Portland cement was studied.Following this, an investigation was carried out to explore the behaviour of coal ash with hydrated lime as mineral filler in hot mix asphalt, in an attempt to determine a sustainable solution for the management of coal ash in Mauritius.The closing chapter describes the synthesis process used to obtain zeolite Na-A from coal fly ash via fusion with NaOH followed by hydrothermal reaction. Coal fly ash is a low cost source of both silica and alumina. The molar ratio of SiO2/Al2O3 for zeolite 4A formation was achieved through the addition of sodium aluminate solution/aluminum waste as aluminum sources.
Combustion Ash Residue Management : An Engineering Perspective (ProQuest)
Goodwin, Richard W.. Combustion Ash Residue Management : An Engineering Perspective, Elsevier Science & Technology Books, 2014.
more...less...
"Combustion Ash and Residue Management" assists owners and operators of Coal-fired and Resource Recovery Power Plants. By applying the principles and reviewing the case studies examples described within this book, accidents and upsets can be avoided and regulatory permitting can be achieved OCo reducing costs. This unique book is an essential reference for anybody responsible for disposal or utilization of combustion residues. It reflects over 30 years of engineering practice, applying the principles of concrete chemistry and civil engineering/soil mechanics as confirmed by field data. Dr. Richard Goodwin assesses the composition and environmental impact of combustion residues, and provides not only best practices for safe disposal, but also a blueprint for effective reuse, including applications like structural fill, grout, and capping material. Case studies and cost information for ash disposal options are included, in addition to the lessons learned by high-profile failures, such as the TVA Kingston fossil plant coal fly ash slurry spill in 2008. It also applies engineering principles to discuss how to avoid future upsets, including better operator training and monitoring methods. A comprehensive update to reflect changes in legislation and practice, including new material on the safe disposal or beneficial use of coal ashA straightforward engineering approach, providing practical guidance and field dataWritten by an established expert in the field.
Handbook of Fly Ash (ProQuest)
Handbook of Fly Ash, Elsevier Science & Technology, 2021.
more...less...
The drive to develop more sustainable materials has made fly ash a valuable raw material in many different applications. Comprehensive and authoritative, Handbook of Fly Ash highlights the latest research efforts to develop the properties of fly ash to maximum utility while safeguarding the environment. This book takes an interdisciplinary approach to the research into the classification and compositions of various types of fly ash, such as bottom ash and boiler slag, special classes of fly ash, and their sources around the globe. This is followed by a discussion of fly ash-reinforced composites, such as elastomer-based composites and metal matrix composites. This book also covers a wide range of applications of fly ash in cement, concrete, bricks and blocks, road construction, wastewater treatment, and scrubber sludge solidification. Highlights the recent developments in the utilization of fly ash including its preparation, functionalization, properties, and handling. Places a focus on a wide variety of fly ash applications including recent innovations, such as alkali-activated binder, polypropylene composite, and geopolymer concrete. Includes comprehensive coverage of the characteristics of fly ash with a particular focus on health hazards if it is not properly disposed. Discusses fly ash-reinforced composites, such as polymer/elastomer-based composites and metal matrix composites.
Sustainable Concrete Made with Ashes and Dust from Different Sources
Sustainable Concrete Made with Ashes and Dust from Different Sources : Materials, Properties and Applications, edited by Rafat Siddique, and Rafik Belarbi, Elsevier Science & Technology, 2021.
more...less...
Sustainable Concrete Made with Ashes and Dust from Different Sources: Materials, Properties and Applications focuses on individual materials, addressing material characterization, their role in the strength and durability of construction materials, and structural applications. Each chapter reflects the current state-of-the-art in terms of the effective and efficient use of the material. Types of ashes covered are Coal Fly Ash, Coal Bottom Ash, Bagasse Ash, MSW Ash, Red Mud, Waste Marble Dust, Sewage Sludge Ash, and Cement Kiln Dust. This book is useful for civil engineers in the design and development of sustainable concrete by utilizing such types of ashes and researchers involved in the design and formulation of new cementitious materials. Focuses on different types of ashes derived from various sources for use in the development of sustainable concrete Discusses the economic and environmental impacts, normative restrictions, and implementation in codes and standards related to the use of these by-products/wastes in concretes Includes coverage of the impact of dust from construction and demolition wastes

PCA Publications

Introduction / Background

Tips:

Publication year of article is denoted in parentheses after the article title.
Click on the title to go into the Coal Combustion Products Zotero Group Library (ZGL).
Click on the URL from the ZGL record or double-click on an article title in the ZGL to get to full-text access options at the publishers' website.

Title	Date Added

Technical Issues

Tips:

Publication year of article is denoted in parentheses after the article title.
Click on the title to go into the Coal Combustion Products Zotero Group Library (ZGL).
Click on the URL from the ZGL record or double-click on an article title in the ZGL to get to full-text access options at the publishers' website.

Title	Date Added

Full Zotero Group Library - All Articles for Coal Ash in Cement - Technical Issues
Browse or search the full Zotero Group Library. Searchable by keyword, author, year. Filter by tag options.

Economic Issues

Tips:

Publication year of article is denoted in parentheses after the article title.
Click on the title to go into the Coal Combustion Products Zotero Group Library (ZGL).
Click on the URL from the ZGL record or double-click on an article title in the ZGL to get to full-text access options at the publishers' website.

Title	Date Added

Regulatory Issues

Tips:

Publication year of article is denoted in parentheses after the article title.
Click on the title to go into the Coal Combustion Products Zotero Group Library (ZGL).
Click on the URL from the ZGL record or double-click on an article title in the ZGL to get to full-text access options at the publishers' website.

Title	Date Added

Logistical Issues

Tips:

Publication year of article is denoted in parentheses after the article title.
Click on the title to go into the Coal Combustion Products Zotero Group Library (ZGL).
Click on the URL from the ZGL record or double-click on an article title in the ZGL to get to full-text access options at the publishers' website.

Title	Date Added

Environmental Issues

Tips:

Publication year of article is denoted in parentheses after the article title.
Click on the title to go into the Coal Combustion Products Zotero Group Library (ZGL).
Click on the URL from the ZGL record or double-click on an article title in the ZGL to get to full-text access options at the publishers' website.

Title	Date Added

Full Zotero Group Library - All Articles for Coal Ash in Cement - Environmental Issues
Browse or search the Full Zotero Group Library. Searchable by keyword, author, year. Filter by tag options.

American Coal Ash Association (ACAA) Publications

ASH at Work Magazine This link opens in a new window

Standards & Guidelines

Tips:

Publication year of article is denoted in parentheses after the article title.
Click on the title to go into the Coal Combustion Products Zotero Group Library (ZGL).
Click on the URL from the ZGL record or double-click on an article title in the ZGL to get to full-text access options at the publishers' website.

Title	Date Added

Case Studies

Tips:

Publication year of article is denoted in parentheses after the article title.
Click on the title to go into the Coal Combustion Products Zotero Group Library (ZGL).
Click on the URL from the ZGL record or double-click on an article title in the ZGL to get to full-text access options at the publishers' website.

Title	Date Added

Group Library - All Articles

Full Zotero Group Library for Coal Ash in Cement
Browse or search the full Zotero Group Library. Searchable by title keyword, author and year. Filter by tag options.