Guides

Buildings account for 40% of the global GHG emissions; 2/3rds from operational emissions. This presentation looks at examples of how operational and embodied emissions translate to the design documents, the specifications, and the concrete mix designs. Presented By: Kelly Roberts, Walter P. Moore, Atlanta, GA.

ISI advances sustainable infrastructure using the Envision sustainability framework, through education, training, and third-party project verification.

MIT CSHub webinars are free and open to the public. Presentations are geared toward a lay audience. 
 

Recorded presentations from the 2023 PCA Sustainability Summit, August 22-24, 2023

PCA and GCCA teamed up for a New York Climate Week panel. The discussion focused on recent progress and the next steps for the cement-concrete industry to reach carbon neutrality by 2050.
 

Founded in 1980, the ACEEE is a nonprofit research organization, that provides independent analysis, with the aim id developing policies to reduce energy waste and combat climate change. 

ISI advances sustainable infrastructure using the Envision sustainability framework, through education, training, and third-party project verification.

The overall goal of the Program for Sustainable Pavement Engineering & Research (PROSPER) is to advance research, education and technology transfer in the area of sustainable highway and airport pavement infrastructure systems.

The MIT CSHub, is an interdisciplinary team from across MIT working on concrete and infrastructure science, engineering, and economics since 2009.

NEU was established by the American Concrete Institute to collaborate globally to drive education, awareness and adoption of the use of carbon neutral materials and technologies in the built environment. 

LIBRARY HAS 2004- 2005 IN PRINT; Publisher site has 1981+ available full text (more back issues may be available in the future)

Full text at publisher site from v. 1 December 2021+

Full text available at website from 2/2003+

Starting January 1, 2023: Fully open access. Indexed in Compendex from 2013+.

Search and browse issues at publisher site from 2012+; some open access content

Discover publications and more in the PCA Library collections.

Current issues of full text at publisher site

Scrap Tire News has provided tire recycling professionals with the latest tire and rubber recycling news and information since 1986. Published monthly, the newsletter features updates on product and equipment manufacturing, legislative news, original research and material innovations.

An interdisciplinary journal on the engineering and technical issues of building design, technology, energy and environmental performance.

Waste Advantage Magazine is solely dedicated to covering the solid waste and recycling industry. January 2013 to present available full text online.

One-stop access to more than 8 million records covering all aspects of agriculture and related disciplines.

Carbon Mapper data portal includes observations of methane and CO2 super-emitters across the globe. We detect, pinpoint and quantify emissions at a facility-scale and make this data available to the public, providing accessibility and transparency to maximize impact.

From website: The CHWMEG Facility Review Program (FRP) conducts worldwide reviews of facilities that recycle, treat, store, and/or dispose of waste or spent materials.

Researchers from the Potsdam-Institute for Climate Impact Research have analyzed 1,500 climate policies in 41 countries and created a dashboard allowing you to learn about successful policy interventions OR about country cases with large emission reductions across four main sectors: building, electricity, industry and transport.

The ecoinvent Database is a Life Cycle Inventory (LCI) database that supports various types of sustainability assessments. Registration for guest access is free but gives limited high-level metadata.

EC3 is a free database of construction EPDs and matching building impact calculator for use in design and material procurement.

The EPD Registry™ is a searchable database of Environmental Product Declarations (EPDs). It is a global reference library on construction products that have disclosed their environmental profiles through EPDs.

Searchable by maps, by specific address, by country, by product name, by manufacturer and by distance from construction site, The EPD Registry™ simplifies the EPD search process for design and construction professionals while providing manufacturers with a central database in which to list building products that feature an accompanying EPD.

GreenFILE is a free research database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently researched information. Selectively indexed in Compendex from 2003-2018.

EPA technical, scientific, and educational materials are freely available from this site. You can search, retrieve, download, print, and order hardcopies.

The World Bank is the largest single source of development knowledge. The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.

Discover publications and more in the PCA Library collections.

Find scholarly ebooks in multiple subjects from world-renowned publishers. Search across e-books, recommend purchases and read full-text of purchased e-books. PCA Staff & PCA Board & Committee members can request a login by emailing the library at library@cement.org or filling out a form under Services.

Search all publicly available regulatory materials, e.g., trending regulations, public comments, supporting analyses, FR notices, and rules.

Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.

The SE 2050 Database is a central repository for firms participating in the SE 2050 Commitment Program to submit structural embodied carbon (global warming potential) data. The data submitted to the SE 2050 Database will be used to inform industry benchmarks and targets, ultimately working towards net zero embodied carbon by 2050.

If you are a member of an SE 2050 Signatory Firm, click Report Your Data to create a user account and access the database.

Waste Advantage Magazine is solely dedicated to covering the solid waste and recycling industry. January 2013 to present available full text online.

Started in 2007, WikiArquitectura is one of the largest free, online architecture encyclopedias. Contributors include architects, teachers, historians, and other professionals from related disciplines for trustworthy and comprehensive information. Search for "LEED", "carbon", "sustainable", etc. for examples of sustainably designed and constructed buildings.

Carbon Smart Materials Palette provides attribute-based design and material specification guidance for immediately impactful, globally applicable and scalable embodied carbon reductions in the built environment.

The ASCE 7 Hazard Tool is a quick, reliable, and free way to look up key design parameters specified in Standard ASCE 7 and isnow updated with data from ASCE/SEI 7-22.

EC3 is a free database of construction EPDs and matching building impact calculator for use in design and material procurement.

A preliminary list of carbon capture projects in the cement industry. The Green Cement Technology Tracker aims to support decision-makers and experts in policy and industry, academia, and civil society, by tracking public announcements of investments in low-carbon cement technologies and presenting them transparently in one place.

Free, Excel-based tools that help companies estimate their greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions based on the GHG Protocol. 

Carbon Mapper data portal includes observations of methane and CO2 super-emitters across the globe. We detect, pinpoint and quantify emissions at a facility-scale and make this data available to the public, providing accessibility and transparency to maximize impact.

Researchers from the Potsdam-Institute for Climate Impact Research have analyzed 1,500 climate policies in 41 countries and created a dashboard allowing you to learn about successful policy interventions OR about country cases with large emission reductions across four main sectors: building, electricity, industry and transport.

Search government generated datasets in the areas of Agriculture, Energy, Climate, Local Government, Maritime, Ocean, Older Adults Health. Find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.

A preliminary list of carbon capture projects in the cement industry. The Green Cement Technology Tracker aims to support decision-makers and experts in policy and industry, academia, and civil society, by tracking public announcements of investments in low-carbon cement technologies and presenting them transparently in one place.

The IEA provides authoritative and comprehensive global energy data. Includes Data explorers, Data sets, Chart library.

The SE 2050 Database is a central repository for firms participating in the SE 2050 Commitment Program to submit structural embodied carbon (global warming potential) data. The data submitted to the SE 2050 Database will be used to inform industry benchmarks and targets, ultimately working towards net zero embodied carbon by 2050.

If you are a member of an SE 2050 Signatory Firm, click Report Your Data to create a user account and access the database.

Reports on Post-Combustion, Carbon Conversion and Utilization and Pre-combustion.

The World Bank is the largest single source of development knowledge. The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.

The PCA's Roadmap outlines the opportunities and actions to reach carbon neutrality involving the entire value chain. Access the Executive Summary & the Full Roadmap from this website.